WhatsApp, a messaging application, has said it will block users who reject its new terms and conditions by May 15, 2021.
It stated that such accounts will be listed as inactive and may be deleted after 120 days.
Calls and notifications will still function for “a short while” but, TechCrunch reported, probably only a “few weeks” .
WhatsApp announced the update in January.
There was a backlash among many users who thought it meant the company was planning to change the amount of data it shared with its parent company, Facebook.
It later clarified this was not the case – the update is actually aimed at enabling payments to be made to businesses.